About The Ruskin

The Ruskin is home to the leading collection of works by the epoch-defining writer, artist and social thinker John Ruskin (1819–1900) and his circle, and also The Ruskin – Research Institute and our multidisciplinary research projects.

Find out more about:

Black and white photograph of a man (John Ruskin) with a short beard, wearing a woolen coat and hat, holding a wooden walking stick and leaning against a dry stone wall.

John Ruskin

John Ruskin (1819–1900) was a writer, artist, environmentalist and social thinker. He challenged the ideals and values of his own time and, in the process, paved the way for modes of thinking today.

About John Ruskin
A painting of a cloudy sky above a mountainscape.

The Collection

The Ruskin Whitehouse Collection was formed by the educationalist and Liberal MP, John Howard Whitehouse (1873–1955), and contains thousands of paintings and drawings, books and manuscripts, and prints and photographs. It is the most extensive collection of works relating to John Ruskin (1819–1900) and his circle in the world, and the most widely consulted. The Collection is housed in Lancaster University’s award-winning museum designed by Sir Richard MacCormac, and at Ruskin’s home, Brantwood, on Coniston Water.

Search the Collection to explore our range of Ruskin’s works.

Search the collection

Research Institute

Ruskin was a polymath. The Ruskin Whitehouse Collection offers a 360° view of the origins of Ruskin’s thinking and of the nineteenth century. It is also a springboard for exploring social, cultural and environmental issues today.

The Ruskin – Research Institute is integrated with The Ruskin’s public-facing programme, producing ‘live’ research through exhibitions, events, publications, and digital activities.

Our research is produced through the Collection to enhance knowledge and understanding of it. Research also encompasses specialist and interdisciplinary research fields thematically linked to the Collection.

Learn more

Mission

The Ruskin believes that this collection is inspirational and can encourage all of us to explore the past and address the challenges of the future. Through research, interpretation and preservation, working with visitors of all ages and specialists across the world, we will inspire creativity and promote debate across the arts and sciences on culture, heritage, landscape and the environment.

Values

Explore: making the Collection available to everyone, everywhere
Exchange: encouraging debate and learning from each other
Experiment: embarking on new initiatives and nurturing new ideas

Our People

Visit the ‘Our People‘ page to find out more.

Governance

Our Building

Standing at the entrance to campus, The Ruskin is one of Lancaster University’s most distinctive landmarks.

“The use of materials reflects Ruskin’s concerns with the values gained through craft processes.” Sir Richard MacCormac, MJP Architects.

The building is the work of Sir Richard MacCormac CBE, PPRIBA, FRSA, RA (1938 – 2014), whose design conveys aspects of Ruskin’s lifelong interest in the city of Venice. The Ruskin was opened to the public by HRH Princess Alexandra in 1998 and is currently under refurbishment and due to reopen in 2028.

Find out more about the history and design of the building by watching Sir Richard MacCormac’s talk below.

Watch

Our History

Explore the history of The Ruskin Whitehouse Collection.

An oil painting of the New House at the Bembridge School.

1919

J. H. Whitehouse (1873 – 1955) founds Bembridge School on the Isle of Wight in 1919.
Black and white photograph of a person standing in the foreground next to some framed artworks. They are facing a group of students who are sat on a sofa looking at the artworks.

1921

Education Trust Ltd (ETL) is founded to care for Bembridge School and its collections.
A painting of a house on a hill. In front of the house is a grass lawn and behind is woodland and a hill.

1932

J. H. Whitehouse purchases Brantwood, which opens to the public in 1934.
Greyscale photograph of a white mature man (John Howard Whitehouse) with white hair.

1957

Whitehouse Memorial Fund founded.
Black and white photograph of architectural detail of a rose on a door lintel.

1990

The ‘Ruskin Collection Project’ is initiated following an agreement made between the Lord Lloyd of Kilgerran, Chairman of ETL and Professor H.J. Hanham, Vice Chancellor, Lancaster University. The Ruskin Research Seminars, now in their 29th year, begin on 1st February.
Plan drawings of a building. Black line drawing on white background.

1992

MJP Architects are commissioned to design the Ruskin Library, led by Sir Richard MacCormac CBE, PPRIBA, FRSA, RA.
Photograph of a white and black building against a purple sky.

1995

Construction begins on The Ruskin Library, supported by the National Heritage Memorial Fund, with the Esmée Fairburn Foundation, Baring Foundation, Pilgrim Trust and Bowland Charitable Trust. The Mikimoto Lecture is established in memory of Ryuzo Mikimoto, founder of the Ruskin Library of Tokyo.
Sepia photograph of a building and a large lawn in front of it.

1996

The Ruskin Whitehouse Collection is transferred to the Ruskin Library from Bembridge School.
A stone plaque engraved with text

1998

The Ruskin Library opens on 9 May 1998 by HRH Princess Alexandra, Chancellor, Lancaster University and Patron of the Ruskin Foundation. Awards and designations include Building of the Year (Independent on Sunday, 1996) and Millennium Award (Design Council, 1999).

2017

The Ruskin became a University wide Research Centre
An exhibition view from ' Ruskin: Museum of the Near Future' displaying framed artworks on the walls.

2019

The Ruskin Whitehouse Collection at Lancaster University was made possible by the generosity of the Education Trust Limited and the Whitehouse Trust and with the support of the following benefactors: The National Heritage Memorial Fund, Art Fund, Garfield Weston Foundation, Bowland Trust, Friends of the National Libraries, John R Murray Charitable Trust, Guild of St George, Aldama Foundation, Pilgrim Trust, John S Cohen Foundation.

2019

The Ruskin is relaunched as The Ruskin - Museum & Research Centre
Scaffolding inside the entrance foyer of a museum building.

2021

The Ruskin building closed for refurbishment.

2025

In March 2025, The Ruskin - Research Institute was launched.
A child works at a craft table alongside some adults.

Support Us

Help us to protect Ruskin’s legacy and inspire creativity, education and dialogue for years to come.

Find out more